Tasks and areas of interest

Under the 2002 Intelligence and Security Services Act (Wiv 2002), the AIVD has five tasks. Also important to its work are the service’s areas of interest.


The five main tasks of the AIVD:

  • Investigating individuals and organisations
  • Conducting security screenings
  • Promoting the security of vital sectors
  • Gathering international intelligence
  • Compiling risk and threat analyses

Areas of interest

The AIVD has several areas of particular interest:

  • Terrorism, radicalism and Salafism
  • Left-wing, right-wing and animal-rights extremism
  • Hostile interference by foreign powers
  • The proliferation of weapons of mass destruction
  • Foreign intelligence (country studies)
  • Promoting security through, for example:
    1. The national Safety and Security System
    2. Security screenings
    3. Evaluation of information security products